Forum Home Forum Home > Introductions > Greenhorn Introductions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
socalfa View Drop Down
Greenhorns
Greenhorns

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote socalfa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New Member
    Posted: Sep/06/2020 at 1:11am
Originally posted by Ncoke Ncoke wrote:

Thank you, The Kool aid is getting me some training and my 7/66 paid for so I'm happy. It's my first job in the industry and I liked the people in the office more than other firms I talked to. I never signed a guardian FR contract and as far as I know I'm an independent agent and not captive to guardian products. What I was told is that when I'm securities liscenced I will be a 1099 for PAS. Is PAS a shitty BD? I made sure there was no non compete during my interviews. The panning is done with the living balance sheet. I'm not a big fan of the software, but it will make do for now.

I don't know Guardian specifically, but from experiencing other insurance based b/ds: "made sure there was no non compete during my interviews" is not meaningful. The interviewers will say anything and if it's not written down, doesn't matter. 

You might be a statutory employee, bastard child between 1099/W2 for insurance salesmen specifically.

Anyway if they get you the 7/66 that's good enough, but read your contract closely.... That, and not whatever the interviewer said, is what will eventually matter.
PEACH_cm View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PEACH_cm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Sep/04/2020 at 10:51pm
I am not very familiar with guardian contracts but I guarantee you are considered a career agent.

Edited by PEACH_cm - Sep/04/2020 at 10:51pm
Ncoke View Drop Down
Rookie
Rookie